Nugget of Joy archive · February 12, 2024

How to Make a Custom Music Poster in Photoshop With Bitmap Mode

← Teaching archive · Original WordPress post

Keung, L. (2023) How to Make a Custom Music Poster in Photoshop with Bitmap Mode: Envato Tuts+, Design & Illustration Envato Tuts+. Envato Tuts. Available at: https://design.tutsplus.com/tutorials/how-to-create-a-music-poster-using-the-bitmap-mode-in-photoshop–cms-31520 (Accessed: 12 February 2024).

In this tutorial, you’ll learn how to use Bitmap in Photoshop. We’ll look at several patterns you can use on a photo to create a screen-printed effect. You’ll learn how to create a cool music poster design from scratch.

What You’ll Learn in This Music Poster Design Tutorial

  • How to do a music poster design in Photoshop
  • How to set up a new Photoshop file
  • How to use Photoshop Bitmap mode
  • How to create a digital screen effect
  • How to add text
  • How to save the file for the web

What You’ll Need

We’ll also be using the following resources:

Download the images and install the font, and you are ready to start your music poster design!

1. How to Set Up a New Photoshop File

Step 1

In Photoshop, go to File > New. Name the document Music Poster.Set the Width to 1270 px and Height to 1600 px. Set the Resolutionto 72 Pixels/Inch. Click OK.

Create a new Photoshop file

Step 2

Press Command-R to bring up the rules around the document. Head over to View > New Guide.In the New Guidewindow option, select Horizontaland set the guide to 50 px.Click OK.

Do the same for the other sides of the document by subtracting 50 px from the final size.

Add margin guides to the page

Step 3

To create an interesting layout, we will create a slightly off-center layout. The goal is to create something unexpected in this bitmap Photoshop poster instead of the regular centered layout.

The way I determined this layout was by applying the rule of thirds. This technique is applied by dividing the poster size into three rows and columns. The guides we created are not exactly divided into thirds—they are slightly off to accommodate the text and images. By doing this, we are already breaking away from the normal poster. We will create four spaces to mix text and images.

Head over to View > New Guide.Select Vertical in the New Guide window optionand set the guide to 800 px.Click OK.Let’s do the same for the horizontal guide, setting it to980 px.Click OK.

To activate and deactivate the guides, press Command-;.I will hide my guides for now until we need them.

Additionally create another set guides inside the page This time off centre

2. How to Use Photoshop Bitmap Mode

A Photoshop bitmap is an alternative to vector in which an image is converted into black and white pixels. This technique is commonly used for screen printing or newspapers.

We can choose between a handful of different patterns and set the amount of detail we want to maintain. To create screened images, we need to open them separately.

Advertisement

Step 1

Open the isolated headphones image.

In the Layerspanel, unlock the main layer by clicking twice on the lock. Click OK in the New Layer option window.

Open the isolated headphones image and unlock it

Step 2

Head over to Image > Mode > Grayscale,followed byImage > Mode > Bitmap. Click OKin the Flatten Layers option window.

Conver the image into Grayscale followed by Bitmap

Step 3

Set the Output to 72 Pixels/Inch in the Bitmap option window. Under Method, Use Halftone Screen.Click OK.

Set the output to 72 Pixelsinch and use the Halftone Screen

Step 4

In the Halftone Screenoption window, set the Frequencyto 2 Lines/Inch,the Angleto 45 degrees,and the Shapeto Line.ClickOK.

Set the Frequency Shape and Angle

Step 5

To use the image, we need to turn it back to Grayscale. Head over to Image > Mode > Grayscale. In the Grayscaleoption window, set the Size Ratioto 1. Click OK.

Conver the image into Grayscale

Step 6

Let’s duplicate this image onto the Music Poster.In the Layerspanel, Right-click > Duplicate Layer.In the Duplicate Layeroption window, name the layer headphones.Under Destination, select the Music PosterPhotoshop file. Click OK.

Close the isolated headphones image. We won’t need to save it because we’ve already duplicated it into the main Photoshop file.

Duplicate the image onto the original music poster file

Step 7

Open the DJ image. In the Layerspanel, double-click on the layer to unlock it. In the New Layer option window, click OK.

Open the DJ image and unlock the layer

Step 8

We need to delete the background for this specific image to have an isolated DJ. In the Layerspanel, click on the Add a layer mask button.

In the Toolspanel, select the Magic Wand Tool (W).Click to select the background, and hold down Shift on your keyboard to add to the selection. It doesn’t need to be perfect, but we must delete as much background as possible.

Using the Magic Wand Tool select the background on the image

Step 9

Once you’ve selected the background, press Command-I on your keyboard to invert the mask. Ensure you do this on the Layer Mask we added to the main layer.

To deselect, press Command-D.

Invert the background to eliminate it

Step 10

To continue, we need to apply the Layer Mask to the main layer. Select the Layer Mask(right-click > Apply Layer Mask).

Apply the layer mask to the DJ layer

Step 11

Head over to Image > Mode > Grayscale,followed byImage > Mode > Bitmap. Click OK in the Flatten Layers option window.

Set the Output to 240 Pixels/Inch in the Bitmap option window.Under Method, Use: Halftone Screen.Click OK.

In the Halftone Screenoption window, set the Frequencyto 25 Lines/Inch,the Angleto 45 degrees, and the Shapeto Round.ClickOK.

Turn the file back to Grayscale. Head over to Image > Mode > Grayscale.In the Grayscaleoption window, set the Size Ratioto 1. Click OK.

Convert the image into Grayscale and bitmap

Step 12

Let’s duplicate this image onto the Music Poster.Right-clickon the layer and chooseDuplicate Layer.In the Duplicate Layeroption window, name the layer DJ.Under Destination, select the Music PosterPhotoshop file. Click OK.

Close the image. We won’t need to save it because we’ve already duplicated it into the main Photoshop file.

Duplicate the layer onto the Music Poster file

Step 13

Let’s go back to the main Music Posterfile to resize the screened images.

To show the guides, press Command-;.

Using the guides we created at the beginning of this tutorial, we will resize the images to fit the spaces. Let’s start with the DJ layer. Press Command-Tto transform. Head over to the Optionsbar and activate the Maintain Aspect Ratiobutton. Set the Width or Height to 85%, and press Enter.Place the image on the right side of the poster.

Resize and move the image to the right side of the poster

Step 14

We can add a Layer Maskto delete parts of the layer we aren’t using. Click on the Add Layer Maskbutton. Using the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M),select the left side of the poster. Press Command-I to invert the mask. Press Command-Dto deselect.

Using Layer masks delete the part of the image we wont be using

Step 15

Let’s work on the headphones layer. Press Command-Tto transform. Head over to the Optionsbar, and activate the Maintain Aspect Ratiobutton. Set the Width or Height to 22%, and press Enter.Place the image in the lower left quadrant of the poster.

As in the step above, we can add a Layer Mask and delete the parts we won’t be using. Click on the Add Layer Maskbutton. Select the image’s top side using the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M). Press Command-I to invert the mask. Press Command-Dto deselect.

Resize and move the headphones image Using layer masks delete the top part we wont be using

3. How to Create a Digital Screen Effect

Step 1

In the Layerspanel, create a new layer by pressing Shift-Command-N. Name the layer Screen.Click OK.

Select theBrush Tool (B)from the Toolspanel. Right-clickto change the settings. Set theSizeto400 pxand theHardnessto0%.Using the color codes below, brush over the page to cover it.

  • Yellow: #ffb20e
  • Pink: #ff12de
  • Blue: #0078ff

Create a new layer and using the color codes brush over the page

Step 2

Head over toFilter > Distort > Wave.In the Wave option window, use the following settings:

  • Number of Generators: 1
  • Type: Sine
  • Wavelength: Min. 1and Max. 2
  • Amplitude: Min. 295 and Max. 375
  • Scale: Horiz. 100%and Vert. 100%.
  • Undefined Areas: Repeat Edge Pixels

Click OK.

Apply the Wave filter to the new layer

Step 3

We need to run this image through a second process to create the cardioid-style pattern. While on the same layer, head over to Filter > Distort > Polar Coordinates.

In the Polar Coordinatesoption window, select the Polar Rectangularoption. Click OK.

If the colors are not as you hoped, we can tweak them later. Please note that the result will vary, and that’s the fun part!

Apply the Polar coordinates filter after the Wave filter

Step 4

Select the top left quadrant of the poster using the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M)—press Shift to add to the selection and select a small section of the bottom right side. We will be using this later when we add information. Once you have these two selections, click on the Layer Maskbutton. This will create a mask around the selection.

Create a layer mask to delete the parts we wont be using

Step 5

To change the color of the Screen layer, click on Create a new fill or adjustment layer > Hue/Saturation.The Propertiespanel will automatically open. If the opposite, double-click on the Hue/Saturationlayer thumbnail. I am adjusting the Hueto -25.Feel free to experiment!

We want to apply this adjustment layer only to the Screenlayer. Right-click > Create Clipping Mask.

Add a HueSaturation Adjustment layer to tweak colors

Step 6

At this point, the poster is looking slightly flat. The aim is to create tension that will lead the viewer from the main copy to the rest of the information.

Tension is important in a poster because it provides focus and contrast from the other elements. It also creates a path of where the eyes should be going. Something as small as a rectangle can make the biggest difference.

From the Toolspanel, select the Rectangle Tool (U).Click on the page, and set the Widthto 30 pxand the Heightto 1600 px.Click OK.Head to the Optionsbar, and set the Fillto black. Place the rectangle vertically between the Screen image and the DJ.

Create a rectangle to create tension on the poster

4. How to Add Text

To be able to use a bigger font size, I split the word Introspektive onto two lines. Additionally, I used a lighter weight on Musik as it comes secondary to the main word. Since a lot is going on visually, I chose to keep the rest of the information in a single weight and size.

In the Toolspanel, select the Text Tool (T).I used white text to contrast with the background. Use a typeface like Fonseca Font Family Pack from Envato Elements. Bring up the Tools panel to Type > Panels > Character Panel.Below are the details I added; each bullet point is a separate layer. Use the guides we created at the beginning of the tutorial to align the text.

  • INTROS—PEKTIVEMUSIC (US Bill in ExtraBold and Light, Size: 120 pt, Leading: 100 pt, Tracking: 200 pt)
  • 10.—23. JULI 2019FRANKFURT AM MAIN02.—17. OKT 2019BERLIN06.—19. JÄN 2020MUNCHEN (US Bill in Bold, Size: 30 pt, Leading: 40 pt, Tracking: 200 pt)
  • MWM.DE (US Bill in Bold, Size: 30 pt, Leading: 40 pt, Tracking: 200 pt)

Add information to the poster

5. How to Save the File for the Web

Head over to File > Save and save the file as you would normally.

To save a JPEG file for the web, head over to File > Save for Webor Shift-Option-Command-S. Select the file type you want to save the document in—I am choosing JPEG—and set 100 for Quality. Under Image size, you can change the pixel size of the image if you have any size constraints.

You can see a preview of the file size on the bottom left-hand side. This is useful when there are size constraints on a website and you need to lower the image’s quality or size.

Click onSave…to choose the location in the new window, and click onSave again. And you’ll have your bitmap Photoshop poster.

Save the file for Web

You’ve Finished This Bitmap Photoshop Tutorial for Custom Music Poster Designs!

In this tutorial, we reviewed how to design a music poster in Photoshop and learned how to edit a bitmap in Photoshop. We covered some cool effects that will provide different results for everyone. Today, we’ve learned to:

  • Convert images into Bitmap in Photoshop to create a screen-printed effect.
  • Use Layer Masks and Clipping Masks to change colors on a single layer.
  • Use the Wave and Polar Coordinate filters to create a digital screen effect.
  • Apply some design theory, such as grids, typography, hierarchy, and visual tension.

poster

Keung, L. (2023) How to Make a Custom Music Poster in Photoshop with Bitmap Mode: Envato Tuts+, Design & Illustration Envato Tuts+. Envato Tuts. Available at: https://design.tutsplus.com/tutorials/how-to-create-a-music-poster-using-the-bitmap-mode-in-photoshop–cms-31520 (Accessed: 12 February 2024).