Nugget of Joy archive · February 13, 2023

How to Create a Glitter Effect Photoshop Action

← Teaching archive · Original WordPress post

Final product image

What You’ll Be Creating

If you want to add glitter to photo, in this tutorial I’ll show you how to make glitter in Photoshop and how to add it your photos. Once you create this glitter effect Photoshop action, you’ll be able to add glitter to photos with a single click!

LensDust Photoshop Action

How to Create a Glitter Effect Photoshop

  • How to make a glitter background in Photoshop
  • How to add glitter in Photoshop
  • How to add glitter to pictures
  • How to create a glitter effect in Photoshop
  • How to add a glitter effect in Photoshop

What You’ll Need

To recreate the design above, you will need the following resources:

  • Main Photo (Use your own Photo)
  • Texture 1 (Choose your Own)
  • Texture 2 (Choose your Own)

1. How to Start Creating an Action

Step 1

First, open the photo that you want to work with. To open your photo, go to File > Open, choose your photo, and click Open. Now, before we get started, just check a couple of things:

  1. Your photo should be in RGB Color mode, 8 Bits/Channel. To check this, go to Image > Mode.
  2. For best results, your photo size should be 2000–4000 px wide/high. To check this, go toImage > Image Size.
  3. Your photo should be the Background layer. If it is not, go to Layer > New > Background from Layer.

checking image size and mode

Step 2

2. How to Select the Subject

Step 1

Before I show you how to add glitter to pictures, first we need to prepare the subject. Choose the Quick Selection Tool (W) and select the background of the photo. Use the Shift-Altbuttons on your keyboard to add or subtract areas from the selection. After you’ve made a perfect selection, press Control-Shift-I on your keyboard to invert the selection.

making selection

Step 2

Now go to Select > Modify > Smooth and set the Sample Radius to 5 px. Next, go to Select > Modify > Contract and set Contract By to 2 px. Finally, go to Select > Modify > Featherand set the Feather Radius to 2 px.

modifying selection

Step 3

Press Control-J on your keyboard to create a new layer using the selection, and name this new layer Subject.

creating new layer using selection

3. How to Create the Background

Step 1

In this section, we are going to create the background. Select the Backgroundlayer, go to Layer > New Fill Layer > Solid Color to create a new solid color fill layer, name it Background Color, and choose the color #e96688.

creating new solid color fill layer

Step 2

Now Right-click on this layer, choose Blending Options, check Gradient Overlay, and use the settings below:

adding layer style

4. How to Add Glitter Textures

Step 1

In this section we are going to add glitter to photo. Select the Subject layer, go to File > Place Embedded, select thetexture from the first texture link, and click Place. Then, set the Widthand Height of the texture to 400% and the Angleto -90°, and name this layer Base_Glitter_1.

how to add glitter in photoshop

Step 2

Now change the Blending Mode of this layer to Screen.

changing blending mode

Step 3

Go to Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal Allto add a layer mask that reveals the whole layer. Then, set the foreground color to #000000, choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, and brush as shown below. Feel free to use different settings for the Opacity of the brush.

brushing onto layer mask

Step 4

Now press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate this layer. Then, go to Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal to flip this layer horizontally. After that, using the Move Tool (V), click and drag anywhere inside the canvas to position the layer as shown below.

duplicating layer

Step 5

Name this layer Base_Glitter_2and drag it just below the Base_Glitter_1 layer in the Layerspanel.

naming layer

Step 6

Now select the Base_Glitter_1 layer, go to File > Place Embedded, select thetexture from the second texture link, and click Place. Then, set the Widthand Height of the texture to 200% as shown below, and name this layer Add_Glitter_1.

add glitter to photo

Step 7

Change the Blending Mode of this layer to Lighten.

changing blending mode

Step 8

Now go to Layer > New Fill Layer > Solid Color to create a new solid color fill layer, name it A_G_1_Color, and choose the color #e96688.

creating new solid color fill layer

Step 9

Press Control-Alt-Gon your keyboard to create a clipping mask. Then, change the Blending Modeof this layer to Color.

creating clipping mask

Step 10

Now Control-click on the Add_Glitter_1 layer to select both layers at the same time. Then, press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate these layers.

duplicating layers

Step 11

Select the Add_Glitter_1_copy layer, and using the Move Tool (V), click and drag anywhere inside the canvas to position this layer as you like.

positioning layer

Step 12

Now press Control-T on your keyboard to transform this layer, and set the Angle to -30°.

transforming layer

Step 13

Control-click on the A_G_1_Color copy layer to select both layers at the same time. Then, drag these layers just below the Add_Glitter_1 layer in the Layerspanel. After that, name these two layers according to their sequence number.

arranging layers

Step 14

Now repeat this process to create as many glitter layers as you want. Feel free to use different transform settings for each of the texture layers. Here is my result:

repeating process

5. How to Make the Final Adjustments

Step 1

In this section we are going to make some final adjustments to the design. Select the Subject layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer to the top of the layers in the Layerspanel.

duplicating layer

Step 2

Now press Control-Shift-U on your keyboard to desaturate this layer. Then, change the Blending Mode of this layer to Soft Lightand set the Opacity to 73%.

changing blending mode and opacity

Step 3

Name this layer Subject Details.

naming layer

Step 4

Now go to Layer > New > Gradient Mapto create a new gradient map adjustment layer and name it Color Look.

creating new gradient map adjustment layer

Step 5

Double-click on this layer thumbnail, and then in the Properties panel, click on the gradient to open up the Gradient Editor panel and enter the settings below:

adjusting gradient map

The left color stop has color #8616ee, and the right color stop has color #ffae00.

Step 6

Now change the Blending Mode of this layer to Soft Light.

changing blending mode

Step 7

Press D on your keyboard to reset the swatches. Then, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Gradient Map to create a new gradient map adjustment layer and name it Overall Contrast.

creating new gradient map adjustment layer

Step 8

Now change the Blending Mode of this layer to Soft Light and set the Opacity to 73%.

changing blending mode and opacity

Step 9

Select the Base_Glitter_1 layer and click on the link icon between the layer thumbnail and layer mask to unlink them. Then, select the layer thumbnail, and using the Move Tool (V), click and drag anywhere inside the canvas to drag the layer to the left as shown below:

positioning layer

Step 10

Now select the Base_Glitter_2 layer and click on the link icon between the layer thumbnail and layer mask to unlink them. Then, select the layer thumbnail, and using the Move Tool (V), click and drag anywhere inside the canvas to drag the layer to the right as shown below:

positioning layer

Step 11

Select the Overall Contrast layer, press Control-Alt-Shift-E on your keyboard to make a screenshot, and then press Control-Shift-U to desaturate this layer. Then, go to Filter > Other > High Pass and set the Radius to 2 px.

adding high pass filter

Step 12

Now change theBlending Mode of this layer toHard Light and name it Overall Sharpening.

changing blending mode

You Made It!

Congratulations, you have succeeded! You have learned how to create a glitter effect Photoshop action to create amazing effects for pictures. Here is our final result:

final result

Marko Kožokar Jul 27, 2020