Nugget of Joy archive · February 12, 2020

InDesign Tutorials

← Teaching archive · Original WordPress post

##

Books

10 Essential InDesign Skills

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5exskpkmmh40ej6/10-Essential-InDesign-Skills-by-InDesignSkills.pdf?dl=1

InDesign Reference

https://www.dropbox.com/s/j4cyqh18vi1g81z/indesign_reference.pdf?dl=1


##

Getting Started with InDesign (Adobe Tutorial)

Watch Video What you learned: Make a new document The Start screen appears when there are no documents open in InDesign. It lists your recent files (if available), presets, and more. You can also access various resources and search Adobe Stock from here.

  • Choose File > New > Document. In the New Document dialog box, start by choosing a preset. For example, the Print category shows various sizes and document options you can set for a new document. The New Document dialog box is where you can access free and paid Adobe Stock templates, which are a great starting point for your designs.

Save your documents

Explore the different methods for saving your InDesign documents.

What you learned: Save your projects

  • Choose File > Save or File > Save As.
  • Save in InDesign (INDD) format to retain layers, type, and other editable InDesign content. It’s best to save your document in InDesign format while you’re working on it.
  • Choose File > Save As and choose IDML to save your project as a file that is backwards-compatible with previous versions of Adobe InDesign starting with CS4.

Get around in InDesign

Take a hands-on tour of the workspace in Adobe InDesign.

What you learned: The InDesign workspace

  • Document window (in the middle) displays the file you’re currently working on. Multiple open documents appear as tabs in the Document window.
  • Menu bar (at the very top) shows the File, Edit, and other menus that give you access to a variety of commands, adjustments, settings, and panels.
  • Toolbox (on the left) contains tools for creating and editing artwork. Similar tools are grouped together. You can access them by clicking and holding a tool in the toolbox.
  • Panels (on the right) include Properties, Pages, and CC Libraries that contain a variety of controls for working with documents. You can find a full list of panels under the Window menu.

Zoom and pan

Explore how to zoom and pan in an InDesign document.

What you learned: Zoom and pan

  • The Zoom tool, located in the toolbox, can be used to show you more detail of a document. To change from Zoom In to Zoom Out, press Alt (Windows) or Option (macOS).
  • The Hand tool, also located in the toolbox, allows you to pan across a document.
  • The view menu below the document can be used to change the view of a document.

Importing Graphics Using InDesign CS5

</figure> View Tutorial


An Introduction to Threading Text in InDesign CS5

</figure> View Tutorial </div>


##

View Video Sample Files What you learned: Add graphics to projects In InDesign, you can bring raster images, like an image you take with your phone, or vector graphics, like a logo, into your documents:

  1. Choose File > Place to place a graphic (or multiple graphics) in your document.
  2. Click Open. If a frame was selected before placing, the graphic is placed within the frame. You can also click to place a graphic into an existing empty frame or create a frame as you place a graphic.
  3. With the Selection tool in the toolbox, drag a corner point of a graphic frame to resize the frame and to reveal or hide parts of the image.
  4. Drag within the graphic area (not the center) to reposition the graphic and the frame.

Learn about linked graphics

Explore graphic linking using the Links panel.

</div>

What you learned: Graphic linking

Graphics placed in InDesign are linked by default to the original file outside InDesign. If a placed graphic is updated outside InDesign — in Adobe Photoshop for instance — the graphic is automatically updated in InDesign.

  1. Choose Window > Links to see a list of all the graphic files placed in a document in the Links panel. Each linked graphic is listed in the Links panel along with the number of the page it’s on.
  2. Select an image in the Links panel and click the Go To Link button to select the image.
  3. Click the Relink button with a graphic selected in the list and navigate to a replacement image. Any transformations performed in InDesign are preserved.

When you open a document with missing or modified graphics, a dialog box appears.

  • In the Links panel, a graphic with a stop sign means it’s missing. To fix this issue, select the graphic in the Links panel, and click the Relink button at the bottom of the panel or click the Relink File button in the Properties panel.
  • A graphic with a yellow yield sign icon indicates it has been modified. To fix this issue, select the graphic in the Links panel, and click the Update Link button at the bottom of the Links panel or click the Update File button towards the bottom of the Properties panel.

 

Wrap text around objects

Discover how to wrap text around content using the Text Wrap panel.

</div>

What you learned: Wrap text

You can wrap text around any object, including text frames, graphics, and objects you draw in InDesign. Text wrap is applied to the object being wrapped, not the text itself:

  1. With the Selection tool, select the object you want to wrap text around.
  2. In the Properties panel, click the desired wrap option.

Change the color of content

Explore how to apply color to content using existing colors and colors you create.

Sample Files What you learned: Change the color of content

Content in InDesign can have a color stroke (border) and a color fill.

Clicking the fill color or stroke color in the Properties panel reveals colors saved in a document, called swatches.

  • Click the fill color in the Properties panel and select the Swatches option at the top of the panel. You can then select a default color swatch from the list of swatches that appears.
  • Click the fill color in the Properties panel and select the Color option at the top of the panel. You can then mix a custom color. Choose CMYK from the panel menu, if necessary, to see the CMYK sliders. Click in the color spectrum to choose a color, and then adjust the color values using the CMYK sliders.

Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and Black (K) are the colors represented by CMYK. These are printing inks that are mixed to create the final color on a printer.

  • To sample formatting and apply that formatting to other content, click and hold the Color Theme tool in the toolbox to select the Eyedropper tool. The Eyedropper tool captures formatting from an object you click and applies that same formatting to the selected content.


 Save colors as swatches

Learn how to save a color you create as a swatch for later use.

</div>

What you learned: Save colors as swatches

  1. Click the fill color or stroke color in the Properties panel and, with the Swatches option selected in the panel that appears, click the New Swatch button at the bottom of the panel that appears.
  2. Double-click the new color swatch in the list of colors, change the name (if necessary), and set options in the Swatch Options dialog box. Click OK to save the color swatch.
  3. Apply the new swatch by selecting artwork and clicking the fill color or stroke color in the Properties panel and selecting the swatch.

 Add effects like a drop shadow

Apply creative effects to your content.

What you learned: Explore effects like drop shadows in InDesign

Transparency effects include drop shadows, bevel and emboss, and more, and are found in the Properties panel and Effects panel.

To apply a drop shadow effect to an object:

  1. Select the object with the Selection tool.
  2. Click the fx button in the Properties panel to open the Transparency and Effects drop-down menu. Choose Drop Shadow to open the Effects dialog box. You can also open the Effects panel by choosing Window > Effects.
  3. Adjust the drop shadow options. You can also explore other effects by turning them on or off in the panel on the left. Click OK to apply the effect.

@@@


##

##

Understand frames in InDesign (Adobe Tutorial)

Explore the different types of frames you can use in InDesign.

###

Watch Video Sample Files What you learned: Working with frames

  • The tools used to create frames — Type tool, Frame tools, and shape tools — are located in the toolbox.
  • Frames can be created and used as placeholders (a frame without content).
  • Text and images in InDesign reside within a frame. When you place images or text in InDesign, a frame is created automatically for that content.
  • For text, the frame indicates the area where text is to be shown. Text frames have small boxes in the upper-left and lower-right corners which can be used to connect frames together so text can flow from one frame to another.
  • For images, the frame can be used to crop or mask parts of the image.

Add Text

Learn how to add text to your InDesign projects.

What you learned: Add text with the Type tool

  1. Select the Type tool in the toolbox.
  2. With the Type tool selected, drag in the Document window to add a text frame to the document, or click in an existing text frame to add text.
  3. Choose Type > Fill With Placeholder Text to fill the frame with placeholder text.
  4. With the text cursor in the text frame, type your text. Text will wrap once it reaches the right edge of the text frame. Dragging a corner of the text frame scales the text object and wraps the text within it. If the text frame is too small, a red plus appears in the lower-right corner of the frame, indicating overset text (the text doesn’t fit). Reposition the text object with the Selection tool in the toolbox.
  5. Format text with the options in the Properties panel.

Create columns of text

Explore dividing text frames into multiple columns.

Watch Video

What you learned: Create columns of text

  1. Select the Type tool in the toolbox.
  2. With the Type tool selected, drag in the Document window to add a text frame to the document.
  3. With the text cursor in the text frame, by default, type your text.
  4. With the Selection tool in the toolbox selected, double-click a bounding box point around the frame to fit the frame to the text.
  5. Choose Object > Text Frame Options. Set the number of columns to 2 and select Balance Columns to balance the paragraphs of text. Set other options as needed, and then click OK.

Import text

Bring text files into Adobe InDesign from Microsoft Word, and more.

Watch Video What you learned: Import text

Text can be pasted, dragged, or placed into an InDesign document from an outside source, such as Microsoft Word. Text can be placed in an existing text frame or in a frame that InDesign created when placing the text.

  • Choose File > Place to place a text file such as .DOC, .RTF, or .TXT. Depending on the file type, you may be able to set options, such as removing the formatting.
  • Click to place the text in an existing text frame, or click (or click and drag) to have InDesign create a text frame.
  • Click the Screen Mode button at the bottom of the toolbox to choose Preview and see the document without guides. Click the same button to choose Normal.

Flow text between frames

Discover how to flow text from one frame to another.

Watch Video

What you learned: Connect text frames You can connect text frames so that text flows between them. This is called threading text. Text frames have an in port and out port that are used to connect text frames and also visualize any connections. A red plus in the out port indicates that text doesn’t fit in the frame. This is called overset text. To thread text:

  1. With the Selection tool, click to select a text frame and then click the out port (or in port) to load a text cursor.
  2. Position the loaded text cursor within an existing text frame and click to thread the text or drag to create a new text frame.
  3. Choose View > Extras > Show Text Threads to see the threads between the frames.

Edit Content (Adobe Tutorial)

Watch Video

Sample Files What you learned: Create and edit frames Frames can be created and used as placeholders (a frame without content) and as graphic elements. The tools used to create frames are located in the toolbox. Press and hold the Rectangle Frame tool or Rectangle tool to reveal other tools. The Rectangle tool creates unassigned frames, which contain neither text or graphics to start and can be used for drawing a colored shape, for instance. A frame size can be changed numerically in the Properties panel.

  • With a frame selected, you can edit the corner radius by clicking the yellow box in the upper-right of a frame, then dragging a corner. The corner radius can also be edited for a selected shape by choosing Object > Corner Options, setting the options, then clicking OK.

Rotate, flip, lock, and hide content

Learn how to transform content with the Selection tool, Properties panel, and transform tools.

</div>

Watch Video What you learned: To transform content

  • To rotate content, select an object with the Selection tool. Move the pointer just off a corner, and when the rotate arrow appears, drag around the shape to rotate it.
  • To flip content, select the content with the Selection tool. In the Properties panel, to see more options, click More Options in the Transform section of the panel. Click Flip Horizontal or Flip Vertical.
  • Set a reference point in the Properties panel to transform content around a point other than the center.
  • Temporarily locking content can prevent it from being accidentally edited. To lock content, select the content with the Selection tool and choose Object > Lock or press Control+L (Windows) or Command+L (macOS). A lock icon appears on the frame edge. To unlock an individual object, click the lock icon on the bounding box of the selected object. To unlock all locked content on a page, choose Object > Unlock All On Spread.
  • Hide content by selecting it with the Selection tool and choosing Object > Hide. Hidden content is not printed or exported and can’t be selected. To show content again, choose Object > Show All On Spread.

 Align and group content

Explore aligning content with the Align panel and working with groups of content.

</div>

Watch Video What you learned: Align and group content

Smart Guides (View > Grids & Guides > Smart Guides) are temporary snap-to guides for alignment.

Grouping content:

  1. Select the Selection tool in the Tools panel. Drag across content or Shift-click to select it. Click the Group button in the Properties panel to group the objects.
  2. With the Selection tool, double-click an object in a group to edit it individually. Press Escape to stop editing and regroup the objects.

Aligning content:

  • To align objects to one another, select the objects to align, then select an align option in the Properties panel or in the Align panel (Window > Object & Layout > Align).
  • Choose an option from the Align To menu in the Properties panel to align content to the page, margins, or other elements on the page.

 Create guides for alignment

Add page guides to your documents for alignment.

</div>

Watch Video What you learned: Create guides for alignment

Ruler guides are nonprinting objects used for aligning content that can be positioned anywhere. There are two types of ruler guides: page guides and spread guides.

  • With nothing selected, click the Show Rulers button in the Properties panel to show the page rulers. Drag from either the horizontal or vertical ruler into the page or pasteboard area to create a guide. Edit guides by dragging them or selecting them to edit using the X or Y value in the Properties panel.
  • Use a guide for alignment by dragging objects close to the guide. When an object is close enough, the edge of the object will snap to (be pulled toward) the guide.
  • Drag the zero point on the rulers to start the zero on each ruler from somewhere besides the default upper-left corner of the page. Double-click the zero point to reset the zero on each ruler to the upper-left corner of the active page.
  • To lock guides, click the Lock Guides button in the Properties panel with nothing selected, or choose View > Grids & Guides > Lock Guides. To hide guides, click the Hide Guides button in the Properties panel with nothing selected, or choose View > Grids & Guides > Hide Guides.

How to Design a Classic Book Cover With a Modern Twist!

View Tutorial


##

###

How to Create a Fall-Themed Wedding Invite in Adobe InDesign

View Tutorial


##

##

How to Create a Great Business Card in 10 Steps in Adobe InDesign

##

View Tutorial


##

###

How to Create a Space Travel Infographic in Adobe InDesign

##

View Tutorial


##

##

How to Create a Climate Change Infographic in Adobe InDesign

##

View Tutorial


##

##

Books

10 Essential InDesign Skills

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5exskpkmmh40ej6/10-Essential-InDesign-Skills-by-InDesignSkills.pdf?dl=0

InDesign Reference

https://www.dropbox.com/s/j4cyqh18vi1g81z/indesign_reference.pdf?dl=0


##

How to Create a Calendar Template in InDesign

##

View Tutorial


How to Design a Stylish Real Estate Flyer Template in Adobe InDesign

View Tutorial

###


##

How to Create a Resume

##

View Tutorial


##

How to Create a Simple Magazine Template in Adobe InDesign

Watch Video


Learn Restaurant Menu Design in Adobe InDesign

View Tutorial


##

Quick Tip: Creating New Documents, InDesign CS5

##

##

View Tutorial

How to Get Started With Adobe InDesign

If you’re putting together a magazine, brochure or book, it’s likely that you’ll encounter Adobe InDesign during your design process. This publishing program is the print designer’s everyday tool of choice, but you can also use it to do more unusual tasks, such as creating EPUBs (eBooks), formatting cool typography effects, and designing Pinterest-worthy posters.

##

##

Quick Tip: Creating New Documents, InDesign CS5

##

##

View Tutorial

How to Get Started With Adobe InDesign

If you’re putting together a magazine, brochure or book, it’s likely that you’ll encounter Adobe InDesign during your design process. This publishing program is the print designer’s everyday tool of choice, but you can also use it to do more unusual tasks, such as creating EPUBs (eBooks), formatting cool typography effects, and designing Pinterest-worthy posters.